Balance Milk infant formula (large can): every ingredient on the label
アイクレオ(江崎グリコ) アイクレオ バランスミルク(大缶)
An infant formula (modified milk powder) from Ezaki Glico. It has received labeling approval from the Consumer Affairs Agency as a “特別用途食品(乳児用調製粉乳)” (food for special dietary uses, infant formula). After the “/” in the ingredient list come 26 additives, including vitamins, minerals and nucleotides.
Checking the ingredient list against the additives you flagged.
Choose additives to flag →The label on the back
| 種類別Type | 調製粉乳 |
|---|---|
| 原材料名Ingredients | 、、、、、、/、、、、、、、、、、、、、、、、、、、、、、、、、、(一部に乳成分・大豆を含む) |
| 内容量Net content | 800g |
| 賞味期限Best-before date | 缶底に記載 |
| 保存方法Storage | 乾燥した涼しい場所に保存してください。 |
| 販売者Seller | 江崎グリコ株式会社 大阪市西淀川区歌島4-6-5 |
| 製造所Factory | グリコマニュファクチャリングジャパン株式会社 岐阜工場 岐阜県安八郡安八町南條1302-1 |
Allergens: contains milk and soybean
| Energy エネルギー | 523kcal |
| Protein たんぱく質 | 12.0g |
| Fat 脂質 | 28.0g |
| Carbohydrate 炭水化物 | 55.8g |
| Salt equivalent 食塩相当量 | 0.30g |
| Vitamin A ビタミンA | 430μg |
| Vitamin B1 ビタミンB1 | 0.6mg |
| Vitamin B2 ビタミンB2 | 0.9mg |
| Vitamin B6 ビタミンB6 | 0.3mg |
| Vitamin B12 ビタミンB12 | 1.5μg |
| Vitamin C ビタミンC | 60mg |
| Vitamin D ビタミンD | 8.3μg |
| Vitamin E ビタミンE | 6.0mg |
| Vitamin K ビタミンK | 25μg |
| Folic acid 葉酸 | 80μg |
| Niacin ナイアシン | 5.0mg |
| Pantothenic acid パントテン酸 | 4.3mg |
| Biotin ビオチン | 16μg |
| Zinc 亜鉛 | 2.9mg |
| Potassium カリウム | 450mg |
| Calcium カルシウム | 350mg |
| Selenium セレン | 11μg |
| Iron 鉄 | 7.1mg |
| Copper 銅 | 0.37mg |
| Magnesium マグネシウム | 37mg |
| Iodine ヨウ素 | 80μg |
| Phosphorus リン | 220mg |
Copied from the package as of the date checked. The label is shown in Japanese as printed; tap an ingredient to see its English name and role. The links in the table below lead to our Ingredients A–Z and food additive database. On the Consumer Affairs Agency's list of approved foods for special dietary uses, the approved wording is “母乳は赤ちゃんにとって最良の栄養です。「アイクレオ バランスミルク」は母乳が不足したり与えられない場合に母乳の代わりをする目的で作られたものです。” (Breast milk is the best nutrition for babies. “Icreo Balance Milk” was made to take the place of breast milk when breast milk is insufficient or cannot be given.) (approval number 30008, approved 2019-02-04). To be approved as infant formula, a product must meet the ranges of components set by a Cabinet Office ordinance (lower and upper limits of protein, fat, vitamins, minerals and so on per 100 kcal). Also, “調製粉乳” (modified milk powder) is a food for which the government (the Prime Minister) must approve the types and proportions of ingredients other than milk and dairy products.
Ingredients, one by one
| On the label | Type | Role | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| 調整食用油脂(分別ラード、オレオ油、大豆油、ヤシ油、パームオレイン)(国内製造)adjusted edible fats and oils (fractionated lard, oleo oil, soybean oil, coconut oil, palm olein) | Ingredient | Base of the fat (main ingredient) | A blend of several fats and oils. The parentheses give the contents: fractionated lard (part of pork fat), oleo oil (the liquid part of beef fat), soybean oil, coconut oil and palm olein (the liquid part of palm oil). Ingredients are listed in order of weight, so this is the largest. “国内製造” (made in Japan) means the oils were blended in Japan. |
| ホエイパウダーwhey powder | Ingredient | Base of protein and lactose | Whey, the liquid left over when making cheese, made into powder. |
| 乳糖lactose | Ingredient | Base of carbohydrate (sugar) | A sugar found in milk. |
| 脱脂粉乳skim milk powder | Ingredient | Base of protein | Milk with the fat removed, made into powder. |
| たんぱく質濃縮ホエイパウダーprotein-concentrated whey powder | Ingredient | Base of protein | Whey with its protein concentrated. |
| ガラクトオリゴ糖galacto-oligosaccharide | Ingredient | Sugar | An oligosaccharide made from lactose. |
| エゴマ油perilla oil | Ingredient | Fat | Oil pressed from perilla (egoma) seeds. |
| レシチンlecithin | Food additive | Used as an emulsifier and so on | A component taken from soybeans and similar sources. It is an additive often used as an emulsifier, but the manufacturer does not disclose why it is used in this product. |
| 塩化カルシウムcalcium chloride | Food additive | Mineral (calcium) | — |
| 水酸化カルシウムcalcium hydroxide | Food additive | Mineral (calcium) | — |
| ビタミンCvitamin C | Food additive | Vitamin | — |
| タウリンtaurine | Food additive | Nutrient | The reference values in the nutrition facts give 30 mg per 100 g. |
| イノシトールinositol | Food additive | Nutrient | — |
| 硫酸第一鉄ferrous sulfate | Food additive | Mineral (iron) | — |
| 硫酸亜鉛zinc sulfate | Food additive | Mineral (zinc) | — |
| 5'-シチジル酸5'-cytidylic acid | Food additive | Nucleotide | The five that start with 5'- (cytidylic acid, uridylic acid, adenylic acid, inosinic acid and guanylic acid) are components called nucleotides. They have been reported to be present in breast milk as well (Sugawara et al., 1995; the authors are researchers at Snow Brand Milk Products). In the reference values of the nutrition facts, nucleotides are 20 mg per 100 g. Note that sodium inosinate and sodium guanylate are additives also used in ordinary foods as umami seasonings (such as “調味料(核酸)”, seasoning (nucleic acids)). |
| ビタミンEvitamin E | Food additive | Vitamin | — |
| 5'-ウリジル酸ナトリウムsodium 5'-uridylate | Food additive | Nucleotide | — |
| ニコチン酸アミドnicotinamide | Food additive | Vitamin (niacin) | — |
| パントテン酸カルシウムcalcium pantothenate | Food additive | Vitamin (pantothenic acid) | — |
| 5'-アデニル酸5'-adenylic acid | Food additive | Nucleotide | — |
| 5'-イノシン酸ナトリウムsodium 5'-inosinate | Food additive | Nucleotide | — |
| 5'-グアニル酸ナトリウムsodium 5'-guanylate | Food additive | Nucleotide | — |
| 硫酸銅copper sulfate | Food additive | Mineral (copper) | — |
| ビタミンB1vitamin B1 | Food additive | Vitamin | — |
| ビタミンAvitamin A | Food additive | Vitamin | — |
| ビタミンB2vitamin B2 | Food additive | Vitamin | — |
| ビタミンB6vitamin B6 | Food additive | Vitamin | — |
| β-カロテンbeta-carotene | Food additive | Vitamin (source of vitamin A) | — |
| 葉酸folic acid | Food additive | Vitamin | — |
| ビオチンbiotin | Food additive | Vitamin | — |
| ビタミンD3vitamin D3 | Food additive | Vitamin | — |
| ビタミンB12vitamin B12 | Food additive | Vitamin | — |
Not found in the ingredient list
This is not the maker's “not used” claim. These are things often seen in similar products that we checked are not written in this product's ingredient list. Additives carried over from ingredients may not be declared, so this does not mean they are absent (about additives not written on labels).
Next to a typical product
調整食用油脂(分別ラード、オレオ油、大豆油、ヤシ油、パームオレイン)(国内製造)、ホエイパウダー、乳糖、脱脂粉乳、たんぱく質濃縮ホエイパウダー、ガラクトオリゴ糖、エゴマ油/レシチン、塩化カルシウム、水酸化カルシウム、ビタミンC、タウリン、イノシトール、硫酸第一鉄、硫酸亜鉛、5'-シチジル酸、ビタミンE、5'-ウリジル酸ナトリウム、ニコチン酸アミド、パントテン酸カルシウム、5'-アデニル酸、5'-イノシン酸ナトリウム、5'-グアニル酸ナトリウム、硫酸銅、ビタミンB1、ビタミンA、ビタミンB2、ビタミンB6、β-カロテン、葉酸、ビオチン、ビタミンD3、ビタミンB12、(一部に乳成分・大豆を含む)
乳糖(アメリカ製造)、調整食用油脂(豚脂分別油、大豆白絞油、パーム核油、精製魚油、アラキドン酸含有油脂)、乳清たんぱく質、バターミルク、フラクトオリゴ糖、カルシウムカゼイネート、デキストリン、脱脂粉乳、食塩、ビフィズス菌液、酵母/炭酸Ca、リン酸Ca、塩化Mg、炭酸K、V.C、イノシトール、タウリン、ピロリン酸鉄、塩化Ca、V.E、硫酸亜鉛、塩化K、シチジル酸Na、L-カルニチン、パントテン酸Ca、ウリジル酸Na、ナイアシン、イノシン酸Na、グアニル酸Na、5'-AMP、硫酸銅、V.A、V.B1、V.B2、V.B6、カロテン、葉酸、V.K、ビオチン、V.D、V.B12
This is the ingredient list from the Meiji official page (checked 2026-09-30). The additives are shown in red. It too has been approved as a food for special dietary uses (infant formula). Every infant formula adds vitamins and minerals as additives to fit the approval standards. The differences include the kind of fat (Meiji lists refined fish oil and arachidonic-acid-containing oil) and the kind of sugar (Icreo uses galacto-oligosaccharide, Meiji uses fructo-oligosaccharide).
Good points and concerns
+Good points
- Approved by the Consumer Affairs Agency to be labeled as a food for special dietary uses (infant formula) (approval number 30008)
- The amounts of 27 items, including vitamins and minerals, are printed on the can per 100 g
- Additive names are written out in full, like “ビタミンC”, not abbreviated (Meiji in the comparison below uses abbreviations such as “V.C”)
−Concerns
- 26 additives are listed (mostly vitamins, minerals and nucleotides; the purpose of the lecithin is not disclosed)
- The ingredient list shows no DHA or fish oil. Under the EU rules for infant formula (Delegated Regulation 2016/127), DHA is a mandatory component at 20 to 50 mg per 100 kcal
- ¥3,249 for 800 g (about ¥406 per 100 g)
Related articles
Sources
- Icreo Balance Milk, large can (800 g) | Ezaki Glico
- Balance Milk 800 g | Glico Direct Shop
- List of approved foods for special dietary uses (updated 2026-09-16) | Consumer Affairs Agency
- Cabinet Office Order on Permission for Special Dietary Use Labeling under the Health Promotion Act (Appended Table 1, infant formula) | e-Gov
- Ministerial Ordinance on Compositional Standards, etc. for Milk and Milk Products | e-Gov
- Sugawara M, et al. Profile of nucleotides and nucleosides of human milk. J Nutr Sci Vitaminol 1995 (PubMed)
- Commission Delegated Regulation (EU) 2016/127 (infant formula and follow-on formula) | EUR-Lex
- Meiji Hohoemi 780 g | Meiji
- Label on the back of the package (checked 2026-09-30)
This page is a translation of our Japanese page; if they differ, the Japanese page is the reference.